top of page
  • Writer's picturesage

Books, Books and more books. Oh my!

Updated: Jul 18, 2019



Since I’ve been adding to my collection of books by going crazy on amazon and my local discount book store, I thought I would share what I have that has evolved myself into the aspiring interior stylist that I have become as well as some others that I keep along the way.


Okay, I hope this helps you if you are like me (lack in owning novels unless its about how to acquire a skill) or just want a rundown of what books to look into for tips to implement. Obviously, some of these book options may be bias due to honing in on what my interior style is but I promise you can still learn something and it helps especially if you mix interior styles.

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to write in order of my favorites or not so I just randomly ordered them. However, I did categorize by type of book and where the book is located. Enjoy!



What’s on my bookshelf?


Interior Home Design

1) Styled by Emily Henderson

This one is great because it not only inspires someone who just wants to make their home beautiful, it also inspires aspiring interior stylist such as me.

2) Home Style by City by Ida Magntorn

This book is great for getting not only visually inspired (color schemes and book suggestions) but also musically inspired with music playlist. Cities explained: Paris, London, New York, Los Angeles, and Copenhagen

3) Domino: Your Guide to a Stylish Home edited by editors of domino

Domino: The Book of Decorating edited by editors of domino

Both books are worth it because they both offer something different. The Book of Decorating is the 1st edition and stylish home is the 2nd edition.

4) Homebody by Joanna Gaines

This is great for not only considering interior but also the exterior of a home.

5) Dirty Little secrets of design by Frank Fontana

Great tips in this book!

6) Style and Substance by Margaret Russell (Elle Décor)

Love the pictures in this book!

8) the Lonny Home by Sean Santiago

It has inspiring photos!

7) The Best of designers’ challenge (HGTV) copyrighted 2005

I like seeing 3 ways on how to execute one room.

*Bonus: I have two feng shui books and an book called interior design course book



What’s in my kitchen?


DIY (Do It Yourself) books

1) Hot Glue Gun Mess by Mr. Kate

This is great from updating items found around the house and possibly in your closet.

2) Who Knew? By Bruce Lubin and Jeanne Bossolina-Lubin

This is great for making things simpler.

(cooking books)

I won’t list them all but I tend to gravitate toward the Rachel Ray cooking books

There’s a select few that aren’t from her such as-

365 ways to cook chicken

99 cent store cook unofficial cookbook



What’s next to my typewriter?

1)Crown Anthology foreword by Tyler Knott Gregon and edited by Analog De Leon and Gabriel Sage

I love reading and writing poetry. This book is a great collab with many creative writers.

2) Maya Angelou collection

She was the first poet that I read from. Even though, my writing style is different than hers, I'm still inspired by her work.

3) Langston Hughes select collection

He was the second poet I read from.

4) If (1&2) by Evelyn McFarlane and James Saywell

This one is not poetry. But don't be mistaken because it's still powerful with the intricate questions to ask yourself and possibly someone else. Beware some questions deal with sex and politics.

5) Blogging for creatives by Robin Houghton

One of my first resources for starting this blog.

6) What would your character do? By Eric Maisel, Ph.D. and Ann Maisel

7)Writing Your Screenplay by Cynthia Whitcomb

Both books listed above were gifted to me and honestly I haven't had a chance to really dig in and read but from my quick scan it offers quizzes on how I would have my character react to scenes.



*Bonus: I still have the comic book written and drawn by a friend from my English college class. The interesting part is that I made him sign it so I can say I knew him when. Honestly, I am going to admit that I had a crush on him because of his gentleman ways and he went out of his way to walk me to my car after our night class (he did that after noticing how unsafe I felt after dealing with a guy not respecting my boundaries).




What's on my Coffee table? (hard cover)

1) Musicals foreword by Elaine Paige

As I mentioned in my previous blog post, Musicals have a special place in my heart.

2) I love Lucy by Michael McClay

3) I, Too, Sing America by Cathrine Clinton illustrated Stephen Alcorn

These 2 books listed above were my mom's book so, I had to keep it and the book cover color is so vintage and totally gives the room personality.



What's on my side table?

1) Still Crazy for Horses by Karen Briggs and Shawn Hamilton

2) The Wild Ponies of Assateague Island by Donna K. Grosvenor

These are have a special place in my heart because I cherished these when I was younger

3) Chicken Soup for the African American Soul

(passed down from my mother)

4) Suze Orman The Money Book


Side note: not only do I love the tips and stunning photography used, they make for pretty décor on my coffee table and/or bookshelf.



To those who are curious- here’s my small stack of fiction novels

1) Secret life of bees by Sue Monk Kidd

2) James Patterson novels- Alex Cross series

3) The Vampire Diaries by L. J. Smith

This was the first series I finished.



So, I'll end this post with this question, what’s on your shelf?



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page