top of page
  • Writer's picturesage

Life is art: My first (live) art show and silent auction

I was recently invited to be a guest at a fundraiser for the Boys and Girls Club which was sponsored event. It was called The LBBrush-Off which was a live art competition show ending with a silent auction. I was even able to have a friend tag along with me who I knew would have a good time because she is a fashion major and loves art and sketching. I knew I would have a better time at the art show with her around.


My friend and I were amazed as we watched each artist paint and only had 30 minutes to do so. It was intriguing to see how each artist had their own technique and choice in color palette. Some had more detailed work than others but each finished product was beautiful. Also, it was notable to see who was using reference photos and who didn't.


The show consisted of two rounds and the finale which had the two winners from both rounds. Also, if I didn't mention already, the audience got to vote on the paintings to enable the artist to move on to the next round. My friend and I decided to vote on the painting that we would want to see in our separate homes. Which made it easier to vote but tough at the same time. The audience were allowed to walk around with alcoholic beverages and get close up to see the artist at work and were able to ask questions if they wanted to. We were allowed two free drinks if we had a wrist band with two tickets. I was surprised with myself because I thought I would for sure use both but, I only used one. Not to forget, there was a food truck at the event too. It's called The Cheddr wheel. I know this blog isn't about food but damn the food was good! They make the best tater tots!


Here are the round 1 paintings:

Top- left to right: Steven Garcia; Nina De La Vega; Copeland Holt

Bottom- left to right: Laurie Beverage; Illya Mokhov; Denise Skeeter



Here are the round 2 paintings:


Top- left to right: Cameron Calderon; Julie Arnoff; William Zin

Bottom- left to right: Joanne Morris; La Jon Miller; Cambria Edwards




Finale:


Artist name in order from left to right: La Jon Miller; Joanne Morris; Steven Garcia



Unfortunately, I lost the 4th painting but I remember that it was Illya Mokhov. His painting was similar just with a different color choices mostly red and white.


Winner: Steven Garcia

I believe he won funds to go to an art supply warehouse.




I was able to interview La Jon Miller who painted the pink haired woman. My friend and I chatted with him for a bit and found out that his inspiration was mother who is cancer free which what the pink hair symbolizes. He also mentions that the women in his life had been the driving force for him with his success. That's also why he believes women are strong and beautiful and that is what inspired the samurai attire. The funny part was that the running topic of the night is that people talked to me about is that I looked like the girl in his painting.


Overall, It was a good night and it was great to see artist at work and I hope that this won't be the last Brush-off live art show. This really gave me a new appreciation for the art and artist.

Best wishes to them all!


Comment below your thoughts and favorites and I'll tell you which ones I voted for.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page