top of page
  • Writer's picturesage

Nappily Ever After: A (Netflix) movie I can finally relate to

Updated: Jun 14, 2019

This movie had a perfect storyline. I have never had a movie hit so close to home to me and feel so relatable as this one did. It brought back all the feelings I had when I was younger and how I am now.

It made me think of a song that I love by India Arie called I am not my hair . I remember having to sit really still as the beautician went through my course curly hair with a hot comb. Also, I recall having to hold down my ear so she could get really close to my roots. My mother straightened my hair for the longest time with a hot comb and a flat iron because I thought it looked better when someone besides myself did my hair.

What I thought was very bold is how the lead of the movie was daring and blunt from start to finish. I admired that because I was the same way. However, the lead actress in the film was trying to please the wishes of her mother and especially her man so she stayed away from water to keep up with her straightened hair.

I might write another post on my hair journey but for now I will sum it up. I definitely relate to the lead actress in this film but there are still things in that she had done that is shown in the trailer that I've not done. For instance, I've never gone blonde and never gone bald but I've made the decision let my hair go natural more often. I'll admit I still wear it straight but not to "fit in" or please anyone. I just wear it the way that pleases me not society.

Moreover, not only did this movie have a great storyline, it had featured good music choices. I won't give spoilers just in case you want to watch it but I have to mention a few things that won't ruin it for anyone. I think the movie was casted well and props to Sanaa Lathan for actually buzzing her long luscious locks off for the film. She's still rockin' her hair natural. Even though each part of the movie was great, the one scene that I really got a kick out of was when the lead actress dances alone at home and really lets loose.

I definitely think this is a hit. Check it out. Comment your thoughts below.


Trailer: Nappily Ever After

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xh9XFxo2Hg


Based on the book written by Trisha R. Thomas called Nappily Ever After




9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page