top of page
  • Writer's picturesage

Storytime: What's the hurry? You'll get there eventually

I took my childhood friend to get her drivers license. She had wanted me to go with her because she didn't someone to go for support and encouragement for the test and it was so weird to be the one waiting instead of being the one taking the test. While waiting in line for her turn to drive off with the instructor, I was reminiscing about how last time I went to that particular DMW. I was with my mom who had recently passed on. She was the one wait with me as I waited nervously for the instructor. She was my motivator. I felt almost like a parent as I was waiting anxiously for my friend's return and I even spoke with a mother sitting next to me about how she's waiting for her son and how it's his 2nd time taking the driving test. I felt like Deja vu because I remember as I drove away my mom was speaking with a woman who was waiting on her daughter who was having trouble passing the test.

The lady I was sitting next to and I notice my friend's arrival in the parking lot and after waiting for her to come out of the car with the results (which I think is more difficult and intense to wait for than the actual drive test) , she came out the car with the brightest smile and ran to give me the biggest hug and I remember feeling so proud of her on accomplishment and I still am. I am just glad I got to be there for her too.


Moreover, it's interesting to look back because, I don't think I was a normal teen because I wasn't in a rush to get my license like most kids but I was wanting a car. I think it was because at that point of my life I was very much a homebody and everywhere I went was local. If I went somewhere that wasn't, it was usually my mom or uncle I was with or a friend's family. I just know that I wanted to her to be happy. When I passed my test I was happy because she was happy. I even remember that when that sad moment before I started my driving test the instructor had my mom remove her small dreamcatcher that she had hanging around the rearview mirror and I can't even remember the reason for that. I felt bad because it was my mom's car and it's been there for years. The saddest part is that it broke when she removed it. However, the funny part is that the only time I enjoyed my visit and had a good experience overall at the DMV was when I got my drivers license. Now, I know what it's like to be on both sides of waiting for the results.



Comment your thoughts below. Do you have a story that deals with getting your permit and license?


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page