top of page
  • Writer's picturesage

Storytime: The Necklace Lady

Here's a long story for you. I have to give a bit of background in certain parts before the interesting things happen.

When I was about 16 years old I remember going to a clothing store called G-stage (which catered to regular sizes and plus sizes) with my mom to find a dress for my friend's "sweet 16" birthday and not having a good shopping experience. I tried on dress after dress. It seemed difficult to find something because I was in the process of loosing weight so I wasn't toned and "summer body ready" because the items fit very loose or too tight. It wasn't until, I had tried on s black and white flare fitted dress that my mom was like that's perfect. Side note: my mom had said something similar to the other dresses but I wasn't until that dress that she added on saying that she really meant it this time. Here's the part I didn't mention, the lady (somewhere in her 20s) working the ladies fitting room was watching and commenting with my mom about how picky I am about what I wear and my mom told her briefly that I don't like shopping (which used to be true) because of being unhappy with my body. Then she (my mom) even mentions how proud she is of me for loosing a lot of weight and staying constant but she and I knew that I thought that I wasn't seeing my results and I had a unhealthy outlook during my weight loose journey on how I should be looking.


Moreover, the lady mentions that she had gone through something similar and she can totally relate. She did agree with my mom about the dress and she suggested some accessories and she even took off her long pearl with gold chain necklace for me to try on and it looked nice. The lady saw how I lit up and started to finally smile and she said because she really liked the outfit and as I tried to give back her necklace she said to keep it because she thinks the necklace looks great with it. This experience has never happened to me at any clothing store I've been to and that's why its something to remember. I think back on this sometimes and it reminds me to pay it forward or just to compliment someone because you just never know what's going to change someone's perspective. Especially, since I've worked in retail for awhile I've never seen an individual go out of there way to engaging with the customer and giving away their personal belonging. Another side note, this store does not give commission.


And, yes ,if you want to know I still have the necklace after it has been 5 years later. Sadly, I don't have the dress anymore.



Necklace that was given to me


Comment your thoughts below. Do you think it was she was trying to make a sell to get me to leave or do you think she legit wanted to make my day better?


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page